Guyana is small country on the Northern coast of South America. A former British colony, Guyana achieved independence on 26 May, 1966  and on 23 February, 1970, Guyana officially became a republic. An Anglophone nation, Guyana considers themselves part of the Caribbean even though it is not an island.

Guyana comprises of the land north of the Amazon River and east of the Orinoco River and borders Venezuela on the West, Suriname to the East, and Brazil to the South. Guyana has a tropical climate with average temperatures in Georgetown falling between 32°C (89.6°F) and 23°C (73.4°F) with humidity averaging 70% year round. With some of the world’s least explored rain forests, it has some of the most extensive biodiversity in the world.

Guyana has a population of approximately 770,000. Most of the population lives on the coast but several scattered populations live inland.  Guyana’s capital, Georgetown, lies in this coastal region. Guyana is racially heterogeneous with large Indian, African, European, Chinese, and indigenous ethnic groups. The people of Guyana speak predominantly English and Creole and the main religions are Christianity and Hindu with a smaller Muslim population. Guyana’s culture is similar to other Caribbean nations, and cricket is the most popular sport.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s